In the closing days of its annual session, the California Legislature approved a minimum wage hike last week. The bill which passed both the California State Assembly and Senate by wide majorities will increase the state minimum wage to $9.00 per hour by July 2014 and to $10.00 per hour by January 2016. For now, the boost will make California’s minimum wage the highest state minimum wage in the United States. The minimum wage increase will also necessarily increase the minimum salary payable to “exempt" employees under California law (employees must be paid a monthly salary of at least twice the minimum wage for full-time employment). Governor Brown said he will sign the bill into law.
Read More »